Pom Pom Cats

I have fond memories of my Mom taking me to church bazaars and craft sales. Delicious baked goods (made by the finest senior citizen bakers,) crochet toilet paper roll covers, and pom poms cats! I loved seeing tables full of pom pom cats, piled on top of each other, in any color you could want. Last year at holiday time, I found a local church bazaar and excitedly told my husband about the hilarious pom pom cats we’d find there. He agreed to go with me to see these hilarious pom pom cats that I promised were at every single church bazaar. There were no pom pom cats. There were only 3 craft tables, it was definitely not the type of bazaar I was used to, but that’s beside the point. I decided that it was up to me to keep the tradition of pom pom cats alive in Rhode Island.

Firstly, I had my sister send me photos of our old pom pom cats we’d picked up at bazaars. I showed these to my husband so that he would know the awesomeness (and strangeness) that is a pom pom cat.

Yarnez, the pom pom cat I bought from an old lady at a church bazaar.

That’s Yarnez. While you’re judging my color choices, keep in mind that I’ve probably had Yarnez for over 15 years. Back then, pink and green was my favorite color combination, Yarnez was made for me.

Sydney, my sister's pom pom cat from a bazaar.


Next we have Syndey, my sister Monica’s pom pom cat purchased from a different pom pom cat-maker.

Since Yarnez and Sydney are in another country, it was up to me to make pom pom cats. I found a pattern on Craftster and I used it to make these two little guys, Fergus and Barney:

Fergus and Barney, my first two pom pom cats.

I used plastic safety eyes that I bought at Joann and I opted to use pink felt for the nose instead of a plastic one.

Now I think I want to try it again, but bigger and more like Sydney, my sister’s pom pom cat. That’s for another blog post though, we’ll see how these pom poms turn out.

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pom Pom Cats

  1. cmv1021 says:

    I made a pom-pom cat that is identical in pattern to your blue and pink find…except mine is orange and white. I chose to make mine in orange and white because at the time I had a tabby cat that was orange and white. 🙂

  2. Gudrun Goertz says:

    Can you please send me the pattern. I have an orange and white cat that I too bought at a craft bazaar about 20 years ago, and now my daughter would love to have me make her one, but I don’t have the instructions. Can you help. Thanks. Gudrun
    ggoertz13@gmail.com

  3. clln says:

    I got my pattern here http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=151384.msg1502530#msg1502530 but now I can’t see a pattern on that post (I have no idea where it went, it was supposed to be added to the original post.) I did find this other pattern though http://web.archive.org/web/20091021154205/http://geocities.com/deecraftsalot/YarnCat.html

  4. Marcy says:

    Please help, I am trying to make for my children? I am very confused on pulling the strong they and the half knot?

    • clln says:

      It’s been a long time since I made them and this isn’t the same pattern I used, but when they say half knot I think they mean a temporary knot (since you’ll be taking it out later.) So you would just tie it once so you can undo it later.

Leave a Reply

