Felt Ravioli

What do you buy for a foodie who recently moved into a new apartment? Cooking supplies? Nah, she’s set. Cookbooks? Nah, I’ve given her enough of those. Restaurant gift cards? Nope, I live too far away to buy her local gift cards. How about cute magnets?

I recently overheard my foodie sister saying she needs magnets for her new place so the wheels in my brain started turning. About a year ago, I decided I wanted to experiment with making play food out of felt, but I only ever got as far as making pasta. So far I’ve created ravioli, bowties, and fettucine. The raviolis are big enough to stick a self-adhesive magnet on the back, so I’m all set! Here’s the ravioli magnets I’ll be giving my sister:

Felt ravioli magnets

They’re quite easy to make if you’ve got felt, pinking shears, stuffing, and thread. Just cut two ravioli-sized squares of felt with your pinking shears, put a little stuffing in between them, and stitch the two pieces together, leaving a small border. Let real ravioli be your guide.

There are many ways you can change up this ravioli, you don’t have to stick a magnet on the back. You could add a hanging string to make it into an ornament; you could leave them loose as decorative fake food; you can use different colors of felt to make whole wheat, white, or spinach ravioli. If you plan on making these as play food for children, make sure you sew it securely and make them big enough so they’re not a choking hazard.

My next challenge is to see if I can turn my bowties and fettucine into magnets… I’m going to need much smaller magnets… If I can figure out a solution, I’ll post it.

P.S. You may be wondering why I’m posting about this if I haven’t given them to my sister yet. Don’t worry, she doesn’t read this blog. She’s very busy and likely reads food-related blogs instead.

About clln

I'm a crafty lady living in Rhode Island.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

