When Custom is… in the Custom Process: The Rat

A few days ago, I posted about how I made an opossum for a custom order. I probably made it look super easy, and don’t get me wrong, it was a labor of love and not difficult, but there was more to it than I let on. I want to share this because if you’re developing a new project, you should know that your first try probably isn’t going to look exactly like it should. For example, here’s the first version of the opossum I made:

Yep, that doesn’t look much like an opossum at all. The shape is there, the tail is there, but the colors are off. Basically, it looks just like a rat. That’s ok though; I figured out what I had to do to create an opossum and now I have a rat. So if you need a rat, this one might make it to Etsy eventually. Until then, she’s chilling out on my couch, reminding me of the importance of experimenting until you get it right.

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

