Crafty Solutions

The too-wide sandals and my solution.

Craftiness and creativity comes in handy more often than you’d think, you can release your inner MacGyver to fix anything. I recently applied my crafty skills to a little footwear situation I had. I got a crazy deal on some sandals online but I misjudged the size of my foot and the width of the shoe. Basically, the sandals were at least a half- or full-size too wide for me and returning them would have been troublesome (plus I bought them in January, long before I could have worn them so I didn’t really try them out.) Ah, what was a thrifty woman to do with these cute shoes?

The insert in front is still in original form, the one in the back is partially sliced up.

Well, when my closed-toed shoes have a little extra space, I stick a heel insert into the back of the shoe. It takes up some space and puts a cushion between my heel and the shoe, making it comfier. I wanted to do the same thing here, only there really wasn’t a heel to stick an insert to in these strappy sandals. Failing to find any thin inserts (I thought I’d seen such a product on TV but I couldn’t find it in my small town) I bought ball-of-the-foot inserts and used an Exacto knife to slice the insert into strips that were slightly thinner than the sandals’ straps.

The straps with the strips of inserts stuck to it.

You have to be very careful while doing this, it can get sticky. From what I can tell so far, it worked, though I haven’t worn them for a full day yet. As the strips are clear, they’re virtually undetectable. My one fear is that they’ll un-stick from the straps, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed. So there you guy, that’s my Macgyver project this week.

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

