I’ll Always Remember My First

I’m a bit embarrassed to admit this, but I didn’t make my first Etsy purchase until this week. I know you’re asking how could anyone hold out for that long? There’s a million adorable things I’ve been eyeing over my months as an Etsy seller and it took a lot of willpower not to buy half of the items in the front page treasury. I’d be bankrupt if I bought everything I liked on that site, so I denied my frivolous wants. The difference now is that I can justify my two purchases: they’re gifts for my parents.

My mom loves red, poppies, and tea. Roll those into a ball of gift ideas and you get this Red Poppy Teabag Holder by MarciG. I’m thinking of getting her this red poppy bowl as well.

My dad is tough to buy for but he loves cars. Especially vintage cars. Especially General Motors cars. Especially Oldsmobiles. Many a family vacation were spent at car cruises and auto museums, we even went to Oldsmobile’s 100th anniversary in Lansing, Michigan, back in 1997. He took me to my first auto show when I was just a toddler; my Barbies had a fleet of cars to choose from, including a Ferrari; he bought me more Hot Wheels than I could possibly try to jam Polly Pocket dolls into. He loves cars. How do you find a gift for a classic car lover on Etsy? Vintage brochures. My dad is already a collector, hundreds of brochures sit boxed under my parents’ bed. I found him this show edition of a 1967 Oldsmobile brochure from dumpsterdiver. Being only 15 and living in Montreal in 1967, he probably never got his hands on a show edition of an American Oldsmobile brochure (the differences between Canadian and American brochures are slight, but they’re there and they fascinate my dad.) I know he’ll enjoy leafing through this before adding it to the collection under the bed.

As you can tell from this post, I’m very proud of my first two purchases. I can’t wait to wow my parents with them. I’m definitely going to check Etsy first for gifts in the future, it’s an excellent way to make sure that no one else will get them the exact same thing. By the way, if anyone ever needs to get a gift for me, Etsy is an excellent place to get one.

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in General Issues and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ll Always Remember My First

  1. I sometimes worry that etsy is just saturated with sellers that don’t buy these days! I try to make etsy purchases from time to time, to show my support as much as treat myself to something every now and then.

    • clln says:

      Your worry is probably accurate, I’ll bet that a lot of sellers are like me and aren’t purchasing much. Now I’m realizing that instead of buying my supplies from a craft store, I can probably find them on Etsy and support another seller for about the same price. I’m trying to change my ways. plus changing my ways means that I can justify buying myself cute stuff, lol.

Leave a Reply

