Makin’ a Photo Book

My crafts have been bumped down on my list of priorities lately, I’ve had a whole lot of important stuff to do. One of the most pressing projects I’m working on now is a Shutterfly photo book. I’d never heard of Shutterfly until recently when my aunt-in-law asked if I could help make one for my grandparents-in-law’s 50th anniversary. This is a really cute, personalized idea.

I’ve scanned over 100 photos and I’m organizing almost 250 of them. It’s a pretty big project. The hardest part is that I’m organizing a lot of baby photos of kids I don’t recognize. This is for my husband’s family, not mine, so I never met his cousins as children. Heck, I still haven’t met some of his cousins. It’s a little tricky, but luckily my aunts-in-law are a big help.

I’m not exactly thrilled with Shutterfly’s site when dealing with this many photos. They’re separated into pages of 50 photos which makes it a bit tricky to put them all into order (if you didn’t upload them in the desired order. That said, it’s relatively easy to figure out, there are plenty of cute photo book styles, and it’s a great idea. I haven’t tried out any other photo sites that can create photo books like Vistaprint or Walmart Photo Center so I have nothing to compare it to.

While this isn’t the usual crafty thing I’d blog about, I think it still qualifies as a craft. It’s a lot like online scrapbooking. So if you need a personalized gift for someone, have access to a lot of photos and a scanner if they’re not in digital format, and you feel like doing some scrapbooking on the computer, Shutterfly may be for you. Well, it’s back to work for me. Got to finish this photo book very soon.

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

