Baby Hats

A set of pink baby hats.

I’ve declared it Babies Everywhere Week, a week in which I’ll go over baby gift projects. If you’re like me, you know a lot of people who just had or are about to have a baby. As a crafter, you’re pretty much expected to bust out something cute and homemade. I like to keep things simple and practical, so one of the best projects I can think of are baby hats.

The seven hats I sent to Caps for Good back in February.

The first baby hats I ever made were for Save the Children‘s Caps for Good. Through this program, knitters and crocheters made little tiny baby hats to put in newborn care packages to be sent to third world countries. The infant mortality rate can be quite high in such countries, but the hats can help to keep premature babies warm in hopes they’ll survive. I used the simple pattern that came in the program’s information kit to make the preemie-sized caps and soon I was hooked on making them.

As the pattern was for premature babies, I altered it a little bit to make hats for the average- or large-sized babies I’m giving gifts to (it would be great if a baby grew into it in time for next winter.) That said, I’m no baby-head-size expert and I have no babies nearby to be my hat models, so with my only guidance is a website that was kind of off on the adult hat sizes. I believe it’s a little long for babies, but the ribbed portion is probably meant to be rolled up into a cuff. It could be made shorter to eliminate the need to roll the cuff. The pattern only exists in my memory now so I’m not entirely sure I’ve even got it right, but the hats turn out pretty well so it can’t be wrong. I’m not sure who to credit with the pattern, there was no name in the information kit. I’d love to post the pattern here, but as it’s not mine and I don’t know to whom it belongs, I don’t feel right doing it. If you’d really, really like it, you can message me and I’ll type it out from my memory as long as you promise to only use it for gifts and charitable donations. I really wish I knew who to credit on this! It’s a beautifully simple, easy-as-pie pattern made on straight needles.

I used worsted weight acrylic yarn so that they’ll be easily washable. I’m sure the pattern could be adapted for thinner, softer baby yarn as well. I like the color options I have when using worsted weight yarn though, it allows me to choose shades that may be unconventional for babies (like the ones I used for the Caps for Good hats.)

Baby hats in shades of blue.

I like the idea of keeping little babies warm, so I love the idea of giving these hats as gifts. The style is so simple that it will go with most baby outfits (frilly baby bonnets are a little harder to match with.) Next time you’re making a baby hat as a gift, why not make a preemie-sized version for charity? I think Caps for Good will start up again in November (as they did last year.) Even if you don’t knit or crochet, you can make a financial donation to Good Goes to save children under age five in developing countries. You can sponsor a newborn care package (featuring the donated hats) for only $10.

I have a question for the comment section, does anyone know of a group that collects hats for premature babies in local hospitals? I tried looking online for ways to donate preemie-sized hats to Rhode Island-area hospitals and couldn’t find anything. If anyone has done this before, I’d love to know how to go about it. Wait, I have another question for the parents out there: how do you feel about receiving baby hats? Are they useful? You can make comments that don’t answer those questions, of course, those are just things I’m wondering about.

More baby stuff coming tomorrow.

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

