The Holey T-Shirt

The holey t-shirt

Some of the holes in the holey t-shirt.

A few weeks ago I looked down at my stomach and saw my pale skin shining through a bunch of little holes in the stomach of my navy blue t-shirt. I went through a strange little grief cycle about it: I denied it and thought it might be polyester stuffing stuck to me, I got angry about the loss of my shirt (it was from my favorite Canadian store!) and wondered how I got a bunch of little holes on my stomach (I still don’t understand it, I’m really curious as to how I got them,) but now I’m in both the bargaining and the acceptance stage. I’ve decided to upcycle it somehow and I’m trying to figure out how I’ll do it.

Some grey felt I could cut into shapes and sew on.

Buttons I could sew on, kinda like this.

I think I’m going to try and leave it as a shirt, mend the holes, and cover up the mending with either felt shapes or plastic buttons. I put the felt and the buttons on the shirt for the mini-photo shoot for this blog post, and now that I’ve seen them together, I’m leaning towards the buttons.

I’m trying to upcycle it while keeping it a t-shirt first because I figure that if it turns out horribly, I can always scrap that plan, cut it up, and turn it into a Flat Cat.

While it’s sad to wreck a favorite t-shirt, it turns out to be pretty exciting when you can use the opportunity to turn it into something new. It’s the same as when you spill bleach on your clothes or stain them. What’s the worst that can happen? It’s not like you can wear the t-shirt out to a fancy place as it is now, so you can’t really ruin it thaaaat much more.

Have you upcycled something from the wrecked t-shirt? Or an unwrecked t-shirt, I’ll take any project stories. Think I’m up a creek without a paddle with my button idea? Leave me a comment and let me know, I like input and hearing about other people’s projects.

About clln

I'm a crafty lady living in Rhode Island.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

