They Call Me the Hiphopopotamus

OK, they don’t really call me the Hiphopopotamus, but I’m almost finished the hippopotamus I’m crocheting. Last week, my sister-in-law came over and was looking over my crocheted animals and suggested that I make a hippo. I was fairly certain that I couldn’t make a hippo’s snout, but I’m always up for a challenge. Plus if my sister-in-law wants a hippo, I will make a hippo.

My hippo in progress.

There was no need for my self-doubt, I made the snout. It took an evening of pattern-free crocheting, ripping out, crocheting again, ripping out, over and over more times than I can remember. It turned out really well, but the only problem is that I didn’t write down the successful pattern. I’m going to try to make a second hippo while it’s still fresh in my mind in hopes that I can recreate this hippo, but I really can’t recall exactly what I did. Well, if I did it once, I’m sure I can do it again with enough attempts. It might be a while before you see a second hippo out of me, but when it happens I’m sure I’ll get one into my Etsy shop.

Progress has stalled while I wait for poly pellets to arrive in the mail. I realized that the hippo’s head will likely be heavy enough to tip the hippo forward, so I decided I’d have to give the hippo’s feet and rear some weight. On advice from the lovely Lynn from Sophie Cat on Twitter, I ordered some poly pellets off of eBay and now I’m anxiously awaiting their arrival. By the way, if you’re looking for poly pellets, I comparison shopped and the best deals are indeed on eBay. There are many with free shipping which is a bonus if you’re buying a couple of pounds worth of pellets. It seems most brick and mortar stores don’t stock them and the shipping can be far more expensive than the item itself.

Another shot of my hippo

I’ve got the four legs done as well as the tail, and I can finish the body as soon as it’s stuffed. The poly pellets will arrive mid-week, so I should be able to post the finished product in a couple of days. Until then, I’ll work on Hippo 2, maybe I’ll perfect this hippo pattern before the pellets even arrive. Expect finished product photos soon!

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They Call Me the Hiphopopotamus

  1. Lynn says:

    Hi
    The hippo has turned out lovely. Don’t doubt yourself your work is really good & thanks for the mention. the poly pellets do make a big difference to the finished creature.

Leave a Reply

