Knitted Flat Cats

Felt wasn’t the first medium I thought of when I started making cats. As I said in a previous post, I tried using an old towel first. Then I went to an old standard: yarn. What’s easier than a knitted rectangular cat? If you can knit a rectangle and do simple sewing, you too can make a square/rectangular cat. It can be a bit of a learning curve though, as you will see through my cats. Here’s an introduction to yarn rectangle cats, cousins of the Flat Cats.

Knitted flat cats

Amelia, with buttons for her eyes and nose.

I used buttons for eyes on Francis, the black cat, and Amelia, the teal cat. Amelia was a lesson for me. I learned that with eyes, the bigger is usually the better. Also, you might want to avoid using red eyes on your future crafts. It gives them kind of an evil feel, or maybe an albino lab rat feel. I’m sure red eyes can turn out cuter than this, but I clearly failed Amelia. Francis’ eyes were much bigger and have a green rim around a black center. When my husband spotted them at Joann, he immediately suggested them for cat eyes (he gets all of the credit on that great find and the inspiration.) Claudette has plastic safety eyes with grey-ish irises, they were leftover from another project.

Francis, the black yarn cat with button eyes and an embroidery floss nose.

I used a variety of different things for the noses. Francis’ nose is made of pink embroidery floss, I stitched it on freehand in my best attempt at a triangle. Amelia’s nose is a button the same size as her eyes. For the white cat, Claudette, I used a triangular piece of pink felt (she was the last yarn cat before I started making felt Flat Cats, hence the felt influence.)

Claudette, looking quizzical with her crooked face.

I stitched a mouth on each cat using yarn: purple for Amelia since she’s a bizarre-colored cat, sweet pink for sweet Claudette, and black for Francis. You can’t see Francis’ mouth unless you look very closely, but I felt that it made his surprised/alarmed expression more pronounced without a mouth. You may notice that Claudette’s face is screwed into a sour expression. It wasn’t exactly intentional. I made Claudette while watching TV and something good must have been on because I didn’t notice that I sewed her nose on diagonally. Rather than rip her nose off and start again, I decided that Claudette would just be unique and I stitched her mouth on the diagonal to match.

It's a tail, people, just a tail.

Just like the Flat Cats of today, these cats all have tails. Amelia has a long one, I crocheted a chain and attached it to her backside so that it’s actually a free-swinging tail. I embroidered Francis’ and Claudette’s. On all of my Flat Cats, I try to create a curled or kinked tail. Well, I was running low on embroidery floss when I made Claudette so I just gave her a stubby, straight tail. Uh….well…. this is where I tell you to be careful when you’re stitching something freehand to not make it look inappropriate. I didn’t notice until I finished, hopefully you won’t notice either. If you do, I apologize. It wasn’t intentional!

So there are my yarn cats. They’re super simple to make and I encourage everyone to give them a try. They’re a fantastic project for a new knitter who’s sick of making scarves.If you’d like specific instructions, drop me a line in the comments and I’ll write some up.

About clln

I'm a crafty lady living in Rhode Island.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

