Speaking of Flat Cats

While on the topic of Flat Cats and their heritage, I wanted to reveal the very latest innovation in Flat Cat-making: spots! I’ve been thinking about this for months, but it took me a while to think about exactly how I wanted to execute it. Finally, the Spotted Flat Cat is done and is in my Etsy shop!

The very first spotted Flat Cat

The Spotted and the Cinnamon Flat Cats.

I love that this project allows me to reduce waste by using scraps from other flat cats. In fact, you may recognize the cinnamon color on the Spotted Flat Cat from one of my recent cats, the Cinnamon Flat Cat. That large cinnamon spot was made out of the leftover felt cut away from between the Cinnamon Flat Cat’s ears. I’ve been saving the large pieces of felt from my cats for a while in hopes that I’d find a use for them (rather than sending them to a landfill.) Here it is! Not only do I get to use the felt and save the Earth, but I get to create a cat that’s a little more natural-looking. This spotted one looks kind of like a calico or tortoiseshell cat, which I’m quite pleased about.

The back of the Spotted Flat Cat

The cinnamon spot


Little cinnamon spot and a big tan spot.

About clln

I'm a crafty lady living in Rhode Island.
This entry was posted in Etsy, New Item and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

