Sperm Tic-Tac-Toe

X and Y Sperm Tic-Tac-Toe


Crocheted sperm may seem useless, but there are plenty of things that you can do with them. My husband and I enjoy throwing them at each other. You can also play Sperm Toss and try to throw them into a basket (in lieu of an egg.) While playing Sperm Toss, I realized that these sperm should be used for games and then the hamster wheel in my brain started spinning.

I considered crocheting a bowl-like contraption to represent an egg for sperm toss and marking the sperm tails with different colors, but it just didn’t excite me. But then an idea struck me like lightening: Sperm Tic-Tac-Toe.

I crocheted mini-sperm and marked them with a coral-pink X or a baby blue Y. Then I knitted a board in a checkerboard pattern using knit and purl stitches, leaving a garter stitch border on all sides to prevent curling. It’s just like regular tic-tac-toe, but with genetic material!

I passed sex ed, I know that the sex of a baby is determined by the sperm that reaches the egg first, not whether the X or Y genes arrange themselves in a row. So it’s not scientifically accurate. But heck, it makes tic-tac-toe slightly more exciting than it already is! A FETUS’ SEX IS (not really) AT STAKE!

Is Etsy ready for this? I’m not sure. Perhaps I’ll see what kind of feedback I get from it being on our coffee table first.

About clln

I'm a crafty lady living in Rhode Island.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sperm Tic-Tac-Toe

  1. Samantha Stancliffe says:

    Hi! Would it be possible for me to get the pattern for the tic tac toe board? I thought maybe you had it posted, but I can’t seem to find it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

