What I Do All Day

What do I do with my free time? I craft. I craft and craft and craft and then I craft some more. People seem puzzled when I tell them I’m a crafter, they don’t seem to understand the extent of my crafting until they drop by my house. The guest room is covered in crocheted critters and felt cats, the fridge is covered in flowered magnets made with yarn, and the living room features a row of amigurumi octopi.

I’ve had a need to create for many years. The women in my family instilled a passion for crafting in me from a young age: my grandmother taught me to sew when I was 7, my mother taught me to knit when I was 8, and I taught myself to crochet last year with a few tips from my mother-in-law. My friends and family inspire my projects: I first made sperm out of yarn for my friend in the sexual health field; my sister’s love for funny-looking cats inspired my Flat Cats; my other sister’s status as a foodie got me started on felt pasta; my husband asked me to make him a turtle so I based my turtle design on my beloved pet red-eared slider, Speedy. Once I get an idea for a new creation, I work at it from scratch until I’ve made my vision a reality.

While I have an Etsy shop for my creations, I wanted a place to showcase my latest projects, show the work that went into it, share the inspiration behind it, and get feedback on them from others, be they crafty or not. I’m always asking anyone around for suggestions on tweaking whatever I’m working on, so why not open it up to those online? I hope you like my stuff and I look forward to hearing from you!

Don’t forget to check out my Etsy shop, Colleen’s Creations.

About clln

I'm a big-time crafter, small-time blogger. I recently moved from Toronto, ON, to Westerly, RI, and the change is pretty big. Luckily, I have a supportive husband who doesn't mind finding little pieces of yarn all over the house.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

